University of Mississippi Slavery Research Group

The University of Mississippi


The University of Mississippi Slavery Research Group includes faculty members across 17 academic departments working to learn more about the history of slavery in Oxford and on the university campus.


Charles K. Ross, director of African American Studies and professor of history

309 Longstreet Hall
University, MS 38677
662-915-5978 |

Jeffrey T. Jackson, associate professor of sociology

508 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
662-915-5230  |


Mikaëla M. Adams, assistant professor of history
Joel Amidon, assistant professor of secondary education
Deborah E. Barker, associate professor of English
Tony Boudreaux, associate professor of anthropology and director of the Center for Archaeological Research
Chet Bush, graduate student, history
Donald Cole, assistant provost, assistant to the Chancellor for multicultural affairs, Office of the Chancellor, and associate professor of mathematics
Kirsten Dellinger, chair and professor of sociology and anthropology
Leigh Anne Duck, associate professor of English
Jennifer Ford, associate professor and head of Archives and Special Collections, University Libraries
Deborah Freeland, graphic designer for Outreach
Carolyn Freiwald, assistant professor of sociology and anthropology
Shennette Garrett-Scott, assistant professor of history and African American Studies
Phillis George, assistant professor of leadership and counselor education
William D. Griffith, curator of Rowan Oak
Zachary Kagan Guthrie, assistant professor of history
Kirk Johnson, associate professor of sociology and African American Studies
Marc Lerner, associate professor of history
Andrew Marion, graduate student, history
Katie McKee, McMullan Associate Professor of Southern Studies and associate professor of English
Leigh McWhite, political papers archivist and associate professor, University Libraries
KB Melear, associate professor of leadership and counselor education
Maureen Meyers, assistant professor of sociology and anthropology
John Neff, associate professor of history and director of the Center for Civil War Research
Ted Ownby, professor of history and Southern Studies, director of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture
Mandy Perryman, assistant professor of leadership and counselor education
Paul J. Polgar, assistant professor of history
Jarod Roll, associate professor of history
Elaine Roussel Abadie, communications, College of Liberal Arts
Robert Saarnio, director of the University Museum & Historic Houses
Jodi Skipper, assistant professor of anthropology and Southern Studies
Christina Steube, communications specialist, University Communications
Jennifer Stollman, academic director of the William Winter Institute for Racial Reconciliation
Anne Twitty, associate professor of history
Jay Watson,  Howry Chair in Faulkner Studies and professor of English
Amy Wells Dolan, associate professor of higher education
Dawn Wilkins, chair and professor of computer and information science
Kris Zediker, web developer for Outreach